10 places that should be on your bucket list

Do you have a bucket list? I didn’t either. There’s really no reason for a bucket list when you live inside a bubble. You may have a list, but you’ll never do any of it because you’re going to make excuses to why you’re perfectly happy with your every day life, over and over again. Then down the road comes your quarter or mid life crisis where you’re like “F*CK! Where did the time go?” – Yeah…. don’t be that person. Make a bucket list! When you’re making your list, think about what scares you, excites you, and most importantly, think about your dreams. Every time you cross something off your list, you will feel accomplished. You did something that YOU wanted to do and didn’t make excuses not to do it! Below are a few fun ideas to get you started 🙂

10. Visit The Top 10 National Parks in The U.S.

In college we had to memorize the environmental acts and movements for land use planning. Do you know how many laws came into effect after the Clean Water Act thanks to Nixon? Alooooot, I hated those tests. Anyways, John Muir and the Sierra Club in 1913 fought for certain land to be preserved and protected in California. They wanted natural resources to be preserved instead of being used for extraction of goods or power use for utilities such as water and electricity. Congress disputed on the subject for a few years and then in 1916, they created the National Park Service Act. Today, there are 383 National Parks in the U.S.. crazy right? 383 parks a century later. I find it amazing, especially because these parks are so beautiful. I’m very appreciative and plan to take full advantage of what history has saved for us to see. It will be awhile until I check this one off my list, but I’ve started so, go me!

    1. Great Smokey Mountains, North Carolina
    2. Grand Canyon, Arizona
    3. Rocky Mountains, Colorado
    4. Yosemite, California
    5. Yellowstone, Montana
    6. Zion, Utah
    7. Olympic, Washington
    8. Grand Teton, Wyoming
    9. Acadia, Maine
    10. Glacier, Montana

9. West Coast Road Trip

The west coast is beautiful and has so much to offer. Being from the east side, I’ve always wanted to drive along the pacific coast. I want to get coffee in Seattle, drive over the Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco, lay on the beach in Santa Cruz, watch the sunset along the Big Sur, party in LA, and end my trip on the beach in San Diego. There are also a few national parks I would like to check out along the way.

8. Haleakala Sunrise in Hawaii

I’ve always had the expectation to go to Hawaii on my honeymoon. Lately though I’ve been thinking, “well what if I don’t have a honeymoon?”. I should hold this off til I’m 30. If there’s no honeymoon by 30, then I’ll venture with whom ever!
It’s a drive up the summit in the early morning, 10,000 ft above sea level. I’ve heard it’s freezing but you’re literally above the clouds watching the sunrise over Hawaii. Sign me up 🙂 I’m all about beautiful views.

7. New Years in Australia

Everyone I know who has lived in Australia, raves about it. They say Australia is in it’s own little world. The rest of the world is fighting over territory and religion while Australia’s hardest decision is what their flag should look like. I would love to go during new years and watch the fireworks over the Sydney Harbour Bridge. I would also check out the Great Barrier Reef, the Great Opera House, Fraser Island, Bondi Beach, and Melbourne.

6. Antantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp in Thailand

Who doesn’t want to casually love up on some elephants in Thailand? I’ve been to Thailand, down south by the islands. We did an excursion with elephants and you could tell they weren’t healthy. Limited resources or maybe abusive training, the elephants looked fragile. I felt awful after the excursion and would never recommend it. Now I want to go to Chiang Rai and give love to all the rescued elephants. I’ve heard all good things about this camp. You bathe them, feed them, even do yoga with them! At the end of the day during the sunset, the elephant will trek you around the camp before saying goodbye.

5. Meet the Longest Living People in Okinawa, Japan

I’ve never had an interest in Japan until becoming a flight attendant. Everyone I know who has went, loves it. I need to see what all the fuss is about. I plan to visit Tokyo but also my friend Beth lived on the US military base in Okinawa and said it’s beautiful. I’ve researched, and it’s gorgeous! What is interesting is that there’s research out there that states the longest living people in the entire world live in Okinawa, Japan. So now I have to find their fountain of youth.

4. Attend the Northern Lights Festival in Tromso, Norway

I’ve seen the Aurora Borealis once when I was flying a ferry flight from Boston to Minneapolis. We flew into Canada and the Captain called telling us to look out the window on the right side of the aircraft. It was the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen. I sat there in awe as the green lights danced along side us. I pictured myself one day laying under those dancing lights, taking in the beauty of what this world has to offer. There are plenty of places to see the Aurora Borealis. You can see the lights up north in places like Canada, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, and Alaska. The lights can also be seen south in Chile, Argentina, New Zealand, and Australia. I’ve chose Norway because I’ve always had the desire to go. It’s the ultimate country side, in my eyes.
The Northern Lights Festival is in late January, early February and lasts between 9 to 10 days. They have outside concerts and dining so you can sit under the lights while exploring what Tromso has to offer. I would go for probably 3 days and then take a trip to Geiranger, Norway. I’m a glacier, mountain, lake, kind of girl and Geiranger has alot to offer.

3. Riding Through a Safari in South Africa

Ever since watching The Wild Thornberry’s on Nickelodeon, I’ve had the desire to talk to animals. Just kidding. I do have the desire to witness wildlife with little human impact. Africa has an environmental footprint due to it’s trafficking, poaching, hunting, and competition for resources. Besides those factors, I believe it’s the best location to experience true wildlife. I have friends that visit Nigeria, Kenya, and other parts of the continent, but I only feel safe going to South Africa. After my visit there, then I’ll decide if I want to venture out to other parts. Johannesburg, Cape Town, and Durban are all on my list to visit. I plan to take a safari tour through Kruger National Park where they have lions, leopards, rhinos, giraffes, zebras, elephants, and buffalos, OH MY!
PS- I LOVE the south african accent. It’s my favorite accent out there! It sounds like a tangy english accent with a little arabian flare.

2. Stargazing and Exploring Patagonia

Many people have told me about trekking Machu Picchu in Peru through Patagonia. It’s just an intense hike where you pack nothing but essentials to survive. They hike for around TWO WEEKS and live off their limited packed goods and nature itself. I thought about it, and I decided, I’m not that person. It reminds me too much of the show “Naked and Afraid” because honestly by the end of the two weeks, I would most likely be half naked and very afraid. Altitude sickness is what I’m actually worried about.
I still want to explore Patagonia, just in a more modern way. I would love to see the ancient ruins in Machu Picchu and then spend a night camping in the Atacama Desert. At night, the Atacama Desert sky is filled with a star view that will make you feel like you’re sitting on Mars. Afterwards I would make my way towards Torres Del Paine National Park, Cerro Castillo National Reserve, and Los Glaciares National Park. They have hikes that offer views of mountains, lakes, glaciers, and volcanos. I would also make a stop in Santiago for a day or two so I can try all the delicious food I remember drooling over in my college SPA class. This trip would be around 18 days. It will involve a lot of planning, or maybe it would be fun to do with little or no planning. I’ll also need to find a travel buddy who is willing and able to venture out.

1. Skydiving in Dubai

I’ve feared heights my entire life. I can’t even look at a picture of someone on top of a building looking down. It’s my biggest fear besides SNAKES! And no, there is nothing on my bucket list to conquer my fear of snakes… f*ck that! But yes, the only place I will skydive is Dubai. I don’t know why, it just looks beautifully awesome and it’s calling my name. I’m going to jump over Palm Jumeirah Island. The jump is around $600 USD. I’m still working up my courage to do this, that’s why it’s number 1 on my list. May be the last thing I do ;P

Leave a Reply

